Opening Hours : Mon - Fri: 8am - 5pm
Send us a Mail:

246. National Police Service Commission

(1) There is established the National Police Service Commission.
(2) The Commission consists of--

(a) the following persons, each appointed by the President--

(i) a person who is qualified to be appointed as a High Court Judge;
(ii) two retired senior police officers; and
(iii) three persons of integrity who have served the public with distinction;

(b) the Inspector-General of the National Police Service; and
(c) both Deputy Inspectors-General of the National Police Service.

(3) The Commission shall--

(a) recruit and appoint persons to hold or act in offices in the service, confirm appointments, and determine promotions and transfers within the National Police Service;
(b) observing due process, exercise disciplinary control over and remove persons holding or acting in offices within the Service; and
(c) perform any other functions prescribed by national legislation.

(4) The composition of the National Police Service shall reflect the regional and ethnic diversity of the people of Kenya.