Opening Hours : Mon - Fri: 8am - 5pm
Send us a Mail:

131. Authority of the President

(1) The President--

(a) is the Head of State and Government;
(b) exercises the executive authority of the Republic, with the assistance of the Deputy President and Cabinet Secretaries;
(c) is the Commander-in-Chief of the Kenya Defence Forces;
(d) is the chairperson of the National Security Council; and
(e) is a symbol of national unity.

(2) The President shall--

(a) respect, uphold and safeguard this Constitution;
(b) safeguard the sovereignty of the Republic;
(c) promote and enhance the unity of the nation;
(d) promote respect for the diversity of the people and communities of Kenya; and
(e) ensure the protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms and the rule of law.

(3) The President shall not hold any other State or public office.